About the ERASynBio Initiative

ERASynBio is an initiative of international funding agencies working together to promote the robust development of Synthetic Biology and to structure and coordinate national efforts and funding programs. It started as an ERA-Net in 2012. From 2015 onwards, ERASynBio will operate as a self-sustainable initiative.


The ERASynBio consortium consists of nine governmental funding bodies from five EC Member States (Denmark, France, Germany, Spain, UK) and two Associated Countries (United States of America and Switzerland). All of these partners are key players in their national research systems and are successfully running and/or planning national funding initiatives in the field of Synthetic Biology implemented either as dedicated activities or as integrated part within their national programme (i. e. as sub-programme, action line, thematic priority, etc.).

  • Denmark:
    Innovationsfonden - contact
  • France:
    The French National Research Agency (ANR) - contact
    The Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) - contact
  • Germany:
    Project Management Jülich (JUELICH) - contact
    Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) - contact
  • Spain:
    The Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness (MINECO)- contact
  • Switzerland:
    Commission for Technology and Innovation (KTI) - contact
  • United Kingdom:
    Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) - contact 
  • United States of America:
    The National Science Foundation (NSF) - contact


Observers will follow the initiative and will be invited to participate on dedicated occasions, e.g. participation in joint calls. At the moment the following organisations accepted the invitation to collaborate:

  • Finland: Academy of Finland (AKA) - contact
  • Latvia: The Latvian Academy of Sciences (LAS),  - contact
  • Portugal: Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT),  - contact
  • Slovenia: Ministry of Education, Science, and Sport (MIZS), - contact
  • Israel: Chief Scientist Office – Ministry of Health (CSO-MOH) - contact